RSS

Finally, He Speaks The Truth!

15 Dec

Somehow, I ended up on the e-mail list for Breakthrough with Pastor Rod Parsley.  Again.

I distinctly remember unsubscribing from that e-mail list earlier this year.  After all, why would I want to receive e-mail from an organization  I disagree with on almost every point. But once again, the e-mails are coming in and I think I know why.

According to the last e-mail I received from them, they are in a financial crisis.  They need $3 million dollars by the end of the year or they are going to close their doors forever.  Maybe.

And because of this, I am back on their mailing list so that I can “please give [my] very best seed faith gift.”

Now personally, I don’t support this ministry because of the distortion of the Scriptures they teach called the Prosperity Gospel. It goes something like this:  If I “sow a seed of faith” to their ministry and support them right now, God will give me back that “seed of faith” ten-fold, or twenty-fold, or fifty-fold or even a hundred-fold.  That means that I am not really supporting the ministry so much as I am investing in God’s stock market and it is about to go through the roof.  For every hundred dollars I invest, I will get back up to ten thousand dollars.

And God has to do this, or else He is a liar.

That’s the part that really bothers me.  Here is the created being calling his Sovereign Creator a liar because he doesn’t know how to read the Bible in context without adding his own ideas to it.

But God is sovereign and He controls all of His creation, including the words that go out in the e-mail asking me to support Breakthrough.  Here is what the e-mail says about the promise of God that they are claiming.   I have not altered this, I simply copied and pasted it as it was.

In this time of great crisis I need you to stand with me by sowing the very best seed faith love offering you can. And God makes this promise to you, “I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it,” says the LORD Almighty.

The Lord has spoken!!!  He will NOT throw open the floodgates of heaven if you sow a seed to this ministry.

That’s hilarious.  And a bit sobering.

We live in an age where people claim to speak for the Lord, but His Word is complete in the Bible.  Always look to the Scriptures to see if a man speaks for God or for himself.  If what he says is true, it will line up with the truth of the Bible.  If not, he is a false teacher and we need to identify him as such.

Pray for this man and this ministry.  God is powerful enough to reach down and take hold of this ministry and use it for His glory.  Pray that this time of crisis would be used to bring that about.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 15, 2009 in Cool & Interesting Stuff

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Finally, He Speaks The Truth!

  1. Robert

    December 16, 2009 at 5:29 pm

    Thanks Rob for this story. I have often been skeptical of ministries that are so “up front” about money. Tithing is for God, right?

     
  2. disciplerob

    December 16, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Yes. It is the responsibility of your local church to teach about tithing, and it is our responsibility to tithe to our local church. Anything else that we give to another other ministry is an offering, over and above the tithe we give to our local church. That’s one of things I disagreed with about his ministry. He always wanted people to give their tithes to his ministry and that just isn’t Biblical.

     

Leave a Reply

 
