RSS

John 1: 29-34 (ESV)

10 Jun

Click here to read John 1: 29-34 (ESV)

In these verses, what seemed to be the culmination of John the Baptist’s ministry was finally happening. Jesus was walking toward him and John uttered those beautiful words, “Behold, the Lamb of God, who takes away the sin of the world!” God had provided His own Lamb for the sacrifice, just as He had done on the mountain as Abraham was about to sacrifice Isaac. Jesus was the Perfect, Spotless Lamb who would become the perfect sacrifice for the sins of His people.

In order to understand John’s statement, “who takes away the sin (singular) of the world,” we need to look at a principle called “Cause & Effect” and we need to understand how it applies to sin. This is a deep theological truth, so stay with me here. In the Garden of Eden, our representative for all of humanity, Adam, was tested, failed the test, and sin entered the world. This sin that Adam committed in the garden is known as “Original Sin” and it has been passed down to every man, woman and child. This doctrine of Original Sin has been taught extensively in Catholic and Lutheran churches, but in Evangelical Christian churches, it seems to be a lost truth. The way we are taught today, we think that we are sinners because we sin. This is one reason that works-based salvation is so popular. We believe that if only we could stop sinning, we would no longer be sinners.

But that is a lie of the devil. It is meant to remove from our thoughts our need for a Savior and to give us the false hope that we can solve our sin problem on our own.

If we look to Romans 5: 12-21, we will see that we are not sinners because we sin. We will understand that we sin because we are sinners. Because we each have a sin nature passed down from Adam, everything we do is tainted by sin.

And consider this… if you think people are inherently good and do not accept that we have a sin nature, think about a child, under 2 years old, telling a lie to his mother about the cookie he just ate and is now denying, even though the cookie crumbs are all over his face. Where did that child learn to lie? It came from the sin nature that is within each one of us.

Now consider this… even if you were able to go from conception to death without committing one sin… not even one… you would still need a Savior to escape eternal damnation in hell, because the sin we commit everyday is not our only problem. Our “Original Sin” needs to be dealt with as well, and that was something that only Jesus Christ could do for us through His perfect life, death and resurrection. It was only through that perfect union of God and humanity in Christ that we can be declared justified in the sight of God.

John continues his testimony by exalting the preexistent Christ “who ranks before me, because He was before me.” John came for the purpose of preparing the way for the Messiah, that Jesus might be revealed to Israel. John goes on to describe the anointing of the Holy Spirit that he saw descend on Jesus and remain on Him, and finally to conclude that Jesus is the Son of God.

Before we move on to the next section, I ask you to comment here and let me know your thoughts, whether you agree or disagree. We all can learn from each other, so let’s talk about these past few passages.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 10, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “John 1: 29-34 (ESV)

  1. Dave

    June 11, 2009 at 3:59 am

    Wow Rob, that amazed me. I wondered why John used the singular sin instead of sins, you made me understand it now.Question though if you could unfog (is that a word)my mind, once we accept Him and turn our lives over to Him we still have a sin nature (my understanding), why is that so if He takes away the 'sin' of the world? I know our sins are forgiven, past, present and future but I'm not wrapping my mind around why we still, as those saved, still have a nature of sin.Thanks buddy, this is why I love reading and talking with you.

     
  2. Rob Walters

    June 11, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Dave,I'll e-mail you with a much longer response to your question if this doesn't answer it for you, but in the meantime, I'll give a very short answer to your question. In Catholicism, infants are baptized to remove their "original sin." This is not Biblical at all. The curse that God placed on all of humanity was death, both physical and spiritual. The judgment of spiritual death is removed when we trust in Jesus Christ as our Lord and Savior. This corresponds to "original sin" being taken away. The judgment of physical death has not been removed, and will not be removed until Jesus returns for His church and the "last enemy," which is death, is removed at that time. This is where the process of sanctification comes in. We have to remember that everything God does, He does first and foremost for His own glory. Everything else, including our redemption, is secondary to that. He leaves us with a sin nature because it brings glory to Him when one of His redeemed children obeys him, knowing that we could only do so as we are empowered through the sanctifying work of the Holy Spirit. When we deny the flesh (the sin nature) and walk in the Spirit, we bring glory to God. Once our "original sin" is removed through faith in Jesus, He is willing to forgive every sin we commit, past, present and future, since all sin that we commit comes from that one sin that Adam committed and that has been passed down to us.I hope this helps you, and if you need more, let me know and I'll e-mail you a much more in-depth response to this.Thanks for the question!!!

     
  3. Dave

    June 11, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    This answer helped Rob, once I read "The curse that God placed on all of humanity was death, both physical and spiritual" I understood where my lapse in thought was.I do know that Catholic infant baptizing has no basis for what they try to say it's for, I'd be OK with it if they just said what it really is, the parents and God-parents making an oath with God to teach the child as he/she grows.Thanks once again my friend, you give clarity when I my mind has a fog in an area

     
  4. Rob Walters

    June 11, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I'm always happy to discuss the Word of God, and I appreciate it when someone asks me something I have to go research. That was my whole purpose behind this journey through the Book of John. I was reading, but not thoroughly studying the passages like I should be, and this blog gave me the accountability I needed to follow through with my studies the way I should. I know that it's not enough to just regurgitate the same old teaching on these passages, so I am renewed in studying and relying on the Holy Spirit to teach me, which is as it should be. Thanks, brother!

     

Leave a Reply

 
