RSS

Seeing With Spiritual Eyes

28 May

“It was the best of times, it was the worst of times” – Charles Dickens, A Tale of Two Cities

“It was a bright cold day in April, and the clocks were striking thirteen” George Orwell, 1984

“In my younger and more vulnerable years my father gave me some advice that I’ve been turning over in my mind ever since” – F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

“Whether I shall turn out to be the hero of my own life, or whether that station will be held by anybody else, these pages must show” – Charles Dickens, David Copperfield

 

Every great story has a great beginning. Whether it’s a classic work of fiction or a true-life account of someone’s life, each story has to begin somewhere. For new believers in Christ, their stories began when someone shared the Gospel and regeneration took place in their heart. (Actually, as they grow in Christ, they will usually realize that the Lord has been working all throughout their life to bring them to that one point in time where their spiritual darkness was removed by the Holy Spirit so that the Light of Christ could shine through.)

As we seek to guide and disciple those who profess Christ, we often direct them first to the Book of John. Even though there is much more to the story, this is where we have them start because it addresses their immediate need: to learn who Jesus Christ is and what He did for them on the cross, all while showing them that He is indeed God.

For however long it takes (weeks or months), I am going to begin a journey through the Book of John here on my blog. I have been studying through the life of Jesus this year and now I have come to the Book of John and I feel the Lord leading me to share it with you. I won’t be going through a chapter a day or anything like that; just whatever the context directs to be the next passage. That’s why I can’t tell you how long of a journey this will be.

I encourage you to join me as we learn something new about our Lord together. If you have questions or comments, feel free to share them in the comments section and I’ll do my best to research and answer your questions or reply to your comments.

If you plan to walk with me, please leave a comment here and let me know. (It’s encouraging to me just to know someone is reading this thing!) I’ll see you along the path…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Seeing With Spiritual Eyes

  1. Sherri

    May 28, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    Perfect! Since I am just beggining a bible study with Terry,which will start on Tuesday here at work with the book of John we will enjoy following along with you! You can help me as I disciple someone for the first time.

     
  2. Dave

    June 1, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I plan on following along with you Rob.

     

Leave a Reply

 
