RSS

3 Reasons Why We Don’t Share the Gospel (Part 3 of 4)

20 May

Reason #2 – Pride

 

The Bible has much to say about pride. No wonder, since God HATES pride. Pride is the sin from which all other sin comes. Pride is the sin that places us first, above all others, including God. But how exactly does pride keep us from sharing the Gospel? Many of us might think that pride would cause us to share the Gospel then say “Look at me and what I did!”

But pride always seems to be a two-pronged attack. If we obey the Scriptures, we are tempted to tell everyone about our obedience, and then it becomes more about the “look at me” factor than the obedience out of a love for God. Sometimes we do the opposite though. Instead of humbling our hearts and obeying the Scriptures, we try to find ways to justify why that part of the Bible doesn’t apply to us.

This happens all the time when it comes to evangelism!

Many people like to use the excuse that evangelism isn’t their gift. And that may be true. But the problem is that the Great Commission wasn’t only given to those who have the gift of being an evangelist. We are all commanded to go out from the church and share the Gospel and make disciples of all nations.

Others like to use the excuse that God has called them to do other things. “I serve in other ways” is what they will say. Serving is great, but it doesn’t absolve us of the responsibility we have to share the Gospel!

I say “us” because this has been a difficult post for me to write, mostly because I see so much of myself in this. I know that I need to obey the Lord and share the Gospel as He gives me opportunity, but sometimes I shrug it off, and I justify it to myself by saying that I “serve in other ways.” May the Lord remove any pride found in my heart and replace it with a spirit of humility!!!

James and Peter both tell us, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.” I pray for the grace of God to cover me as I struggle in this area. Do you struggle in this area too? If so, His grace will cover you, too!

Stay tuned for the final part tomorrow!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 20, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
