RSS

Look to the East!

16 Apr

I love Bible prophecy. I always have. It just blows my mind to think that it’s possible to know exactly what is going to happen before it actually happens. For me, nothing else more fully and completely proves the existence of God than prophecy and the fulfillment of prophecy. Who else but God could know what’s going to happen before it happens?

In my personal reading, I have been in Ezekiel and I have pretty much stalled there. Not that I have stopped reading, but I am fascinated with the descriptions and prophecies of the new temple and I find myself going back over them again and again. (By the way, that’s why I am not following any specific plan, so that I can just continuously read through the bible and stop wherever I want to study out a passage further.)

I never realized until last night just how significant “East” is to our future. In Ezekiel 40-48, we are given a vision of the future of Jerusalem and the future temple that will be built there. But the most fascinating part of the new temple is that the Lord Himself will be there in His temple!

Ezekiel 43: 1-2 tells us, “Then he led me to the gate, the gate facing east. And behold, the glory of the God of Israel was coming from the east. And the sound of his coming was like the sound of many waters, and the earth shone with his glory.”

And Matthew 24: 27 says, “For as the lightning comes from the east and shines as far as the west, so will be the coming of the Son of Man.”

There is a LOT of interpretation and theology that could be discussed here about these verses and their corresponding chapters, but for the purpose of this blog post, I just want to point out one thing. One thing that we can all agree on.

Jesus Christ is coming again!!!

That one fact should bring together the entire body of Christ in unity! Let us be known as Presbyterians and Catholics and Baptists no more. From now on, let’s be known ONLY as the body of Christ and let’s come together in prayer for our families, our friends, our churches and our nation!

Right now, Jesus Christ is at the right hand of God the Father and He is making intercession for each of us. But one day (soon, I believe!), He is not going to be there any longer. He is going to be coming back to this earth in power and splendor and glory, and every eye will see Him!

Let’s all commit to pray for each other and for our churches and our nation every day.

Let’s make it a part of our daily routine to petition God for our family, friends, churches and nation.

Let me know how we can pray for you!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 16, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
