RSS

The Prophets Still Speak (Part 2)

27 Mar


First, lets make sure we are all talking about application into our lives. We can take a passage literally, in the context that it was written, to understand the information that it contains, but we can still miss the application.

The point of this application is not to read into the Bible what is not there, but to allow the Living and Powerful Word of God to speak to our hearts and convict us or to teach us.

So, back to our passage: Micah 3: 5-8 (ESV)

5 Thus says the LORD concerning the prophets who lead my people astray, who cry “Peace” when they have something to eat, but declare war against him who puts nothing into their mouths.

6 Therefore it shall be night to you, without vision, and darkness to you, without divination. The sun shall go down on the prophets, and the day shall be black over them;

7 the seers shall be disgraced, and the diviners put to shame; they shall all cover their lips, for there is no answer from God.

8 But as for me, I am filled with power, with the Spirit of the LORD, and with justice and might, to declare to Jacob his transgression and to Israel his sin.

In this passage, I see people who are not “in ministry” to glorify God but rather themselves. They have either forgotten their calling from God or they were never called to begin with. They value money and the fattening of their bellies. They have chosen to fulfill their desires by blaspheming God Almighty.

The application I see here is simple but sobering. As a church planter and leader in God’s church, my role is to teach and preach the whole counsel of the Word of God, to shepherd the people who are under my care, and to make decisions about the purpose, plan and vision of the church AS DIRECTED BY GOD!

If I am not immersing myself in study of the Scriptures EVERY DAY, if I am not on my knees in prayer EVERY DAY, if I am not seeking God’s direction for HIS church EVERY DAY, then I am no better than the false prophets in the Old Testament who are leading the people astray. If I don’t seek God every day, then “it shall be night to me, without vision, and darkness to me,” and “there shall be no answer from God.”

Lord, may it NEVER be!

But as I rely on God and the power of His Spirit within me, as I humble myself before Him and confess that I could do NOTHING without Him, He will fill me with HIS power and it will glorify only God, who is alone worthy of praise!



 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 27, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
