RSS

The Prophets Still Speak (Part 1)

26 Mar


I have been studying throught the Gospels about the life of Christ during the day, but in the mornings and evenings, I have been just reading through the Bible. Old Testament in the morning and New Testament at night. This morning’s reading was from Micah chapter 3.

In addition to this, I am preparing to preach a message on God’s wisdom and holiness this Sunday. I will be contrasting knowledge and wisdom in the first half of the message. To put it plainly, knowledge is information and wisdom is application. The educated man knows how to catch a fish. He has studied about the fish, the rod and reel, the water, the fish’s feeding times, the bait and the boat. A wise man has caught a fish!

In the same way, as I read through the Old Testament, it’s very easy to say to myself… Israel was sinning and God was judging them. That’s information. That’s knowledge.

Knowing that I am sinning and that God will judge me the same as He did Israel is still information. It’s still only knowledge.

Wisdom is knowing that and doing something about it, such as confessing my sin and repenting! It’s applying the information to my life so that I can do things differently!

Four verses stuck out to me in Micah chapter 3 this morning. Verses 5-8:

5 Thus says the LORD concerning the prophets
who lead my people astray,
who cry “Peace”
when they have something to eat,
but declare war against him
who puts nothing into their mouths.
6 Therefore it shall be night to you, without vision,
and darkness to you, without divination.
The sun shall go down on the prophets,
and the day shall be black over them;
7 the seers shall be disgraced,
and the diviners put to shame;
they shall all cover their lips,
for there is no answer from God.
8 But as for me, I am filled with power,
with the Spirit of the LORD,
and with justice and might,
to declare to Jacob his transgression
and to Israel his sin.

How can I apply this to today without taking it out of context or making the text say something that it doesn’t actually say?

Post some comments. I’d love to see what you all think. I’ll be posting Part 2 tomorrow with how I believe it should be applied to today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 26, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
