RSS

The Room (Part 3)

21 Mar

Of all the files that will be in my “room” when I stand before God, and all the shame that I will feel as each of my most secret sins are confessed to my Lord and Savior, the God of all creation Jesus Christ, I believe that the most shame that I will feel will come from the “People I Should Have Shared The Gospel With, But Didn’t” file.

When I look back on my life (as much as I can remember of it) I can clearly see times when I was in a store or walking down the street or sitting with someone who thought I was their friend. The people and friends in these situations may not have known the Gospel, or they may have heard it before but not made a profession of faith. I know how poor a friend and neighbor I have been to people who who are lost and dying… and that’s horrible! But how much worse is it to know how poor a servant of Jesus Christ I have been! I understand exactly how Paul felt when he said, “O wretched man that I am!” I understand that I will be held to a higher accountability so why do I fail so consistently at doing the thing Jesus Christ commanded in the Great Commission?

In those moments where I am brutally honest with myself in my heart, I know it’s not because I am too busy or I didn’t recognize the opportunity or even that I didn’t hear the voice of the Holy Spirit.

No. It’s because deep in my heart, I find that I have little compassion for the lost and dying.

When Jesus walked on this earth, it was His compassion that moved Him to act.

Matthew 9: 36 – When he saw the crowds, he had compassion for them, because they were harassed and helpless, like sheep without a shepherd.

Matthew 14: 14 – When he went ashore he saw a great crowd, and he had compassion on them and healed their sick.

Matthew 15: 32 – Then Jesus called his disciples to him and said, “I have compassion on the crowd because they have been with me now three days and have nothing to eat. And I am unwilling to send them away hungry, lest they faint on the way.”

These are just a few examples of many. As I study through the life of Jesus this year, I find that, more and more, Jesus not only pointed the way with His teachings, but with the examples he left for us from His life.

KNOWING what Jesus taught is great, but DOING what Jesus did with the same COMPASSION that Jesus had is better. All the knowledge in the world and $3.95 will get you a large coffee at Starbucks.

My prayer this year is that God will break my heart for the lost and dying world around me and that He will move me with compassion to show them the Love of Christ. We are His hands and feet, whatever we do for one of the least of these, we have done for HIM!

When you stand in “The Room,” what will YOUR files look like? What will MINE look like? I pray we all do what we were commanded to do… SHARE THE GOSPEL!!!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 21, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
