RSS

The Role of a Pastor

19 Jan


The Lord has been showing me a variety of things from His Word lately and the more I read and understand, the more I believe that I should be sharing my thoughts and feelings with others and so this seemed like a good place to start.

First, there is a blog post by a very well-known pastor, Perry Noble, titled “What They REALLY Mean.” The entire blog post is located HERE in it’s original form. I encourage you to read it before going any further in this post, so that you will know exactly what I an talking about.

When I read that, I felt such mixed emotions that I did not know how to respond and so I didn’t say anything about it at all. About a week later, I was able to talk about it with a few close friends, but still, I didn’t really know how to respond to something like that. The strongest emotion that I felt was anger. I couldn’t believe that a pastor, a man in a position that is only supposed to be filled by a man who is specifically called by God, a man who is supposed to be a shepherd to the flock that is under his care, would write such a post!

I understand that pastors are just men with normal human emotions and that sometimes those emotions can carry us along and cause us to say and do some things that we should know better than to do, but we are not talking about a man who was overcome by emotion and said something he shouldn’t have in the heat of the moment. Instead, we are talking about a man who took the time to sit down at his computer, turn it on or log in, open his web browser, log in to his blogging site, write the post, taking the time to word it the way he wanted it, format the post so it is divided into sections and post it to the web. We are talking about a man who sat down at his computer and articulated his true thoughts and feelings for the world to read.

The second emotion I felt was sadness. I couldn’t imagine the hurt he must have experienced in ministry that would lead him to feel this way about the people God had entrusted to his care. This sadness was not directed towards him as much as it was directed to the congregation of his church. These people deserve a pastor who will love them the way Christ loves the church. They deserve to be guided and directed in the Word by someone who has not pre-judged the motives of their heart and the words they have spoken. The sadness and pity I feel for them is almost overwhelming. Praying for them as well as their pastor has become part of my prayer journal. I encourage you to make it part of yours.

It has also been a good lesson to learn while I am at this early stage in becoming a pastor. Sometimes God allows us to see the public mistakes of others so that we can learn from them and avoid those pitfalls. I believe to the core of my being that Perry Noble’s blog post should never have been written, but more than that, I believe that a root of bitterness has sprung up in Perry Noble and he has been blinded by his pride and is totally unable to even see it. My request for anyone reading this is to stop right here and take a moment and pray for Perry Noble and the congregation of Newspring Church.

The responsibility of the pastor is to shepherd the flock that is under his care, the people that God Himself has allowed to be a part of your congregation. The seeker sensitive movement, which I believe has turned our churches into three-ring circuses for our entertainment, has done so much more harm than good. Romans 3 says “There is no one righteous, not even one; there is no one who understands, no one who seeks God. All have turned away, they have together become worthless; there is no one who does good, not even one.” It would seem that God is not a believer in the seeker sensitive movement, since the Bible states that no one seeks after God. Who then, are all these people filling the seeker sensitive churches? Maybe they are people who enjoy a good show and the seeker sensitive churches are giving it to them. Maybe these churches have traded praise and worship music that exalts God for performances that exalt men and women. Maybe instead of preaching the Word of God, these preachers are selling a feel-good message about your dreams coming true and the prosperous life that awaits.

In any case, Jesus Christ said that HE would build his church. The job of the pastor is not to lead a creative marketing campaign to get people to come to the church. The job of the pastor is to preach and teach the Word of God and to shepherd the congregation under his care.

Those who are called to pastor in God’s church will be held accountable to God for their stewardship of the money, resources and people who are under their care.

“It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the Living God.” Pastors today don’t seem to have any fear of the Lord God like we ought to have. Instead, pastors today seem more interested in their own salary or the fancy building or whether they had enough people to beat last weeks attendance instead of the things that really matter, such as worship, evangelism and discipleship.

I thank God for directing me to a church that has its priorities right and exalts Jesus Christ above everything else. I thank God for bringing good mentors into my life who not only teach with their words, but with their lives. I thank God for bringing me together with a good Godly woman to spend my life with. She is a true gift and I love her very much!

Finally, I thank God for the boldness to write these things and post them for everyone to read. My personal belief is that we are living in the last days before the return of Christ. I believe that He is not only at the door, but His hand is on the knob and He is already turning it to open the door! Whatever else God has called me to do, He has called me to preach repentance and revival to the churches in America. I do not know how this will be accomplished, but I know that God’s purpose will be carried out, so I can rest in Christ and trust Him to open doors and prepare the way.

Please pray with me for our country and it’s new president, for the churches in America to turn back to God and His Word, and personally for me, that God would guide and direct me as I yield my life to His will. God Bless You!!!

~Rob

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
